A list of the leaders of Kenya since gaining independence on 12 December 1963

Kenya has had only four presidents since gaining independence. Both Jomo Kenyatta and his successor Daniel arap Moi represented the Kenya African National Union, KANU, whilst , Mwai Kibaki, won a majority with the National Rainbow Coalition, NARC.Uhuru Kenyatta won the seat also in 2013 general election.


Kenya achieved independence within the Commonwealth on 12 December 1963.

Governor-general (representing Queen Elizabeth II, head of state)

12 Dec 1963 — 11 Dec 1964

Malcolm John MacDonald

Prime Minister

1 Jun 1963 — 11 Dec 1964

Jomo Kenyatta

Kenya declared a republic on 12 December 1964

Presidents of the Republic of Kenya

12 Dec 1964 — 21 Aug 1978

Jomo Kenyatta

22 Aug 1978 — 29 Dec 2002

Daniel arap Moi

30 Dec 2002 – 4 march 2013

Mwai Kibaki


4 march2013—present

Uhuru Kenyatta

Jomo Kenyatta died in office in 1978 and he was succeeded by Vice-President Daniel arap Moi. (His expected replacement, Tom Mboya, had been assassinated in 1969.) From 1982, until the general multi-party election in 1992, Kenya was ruled by Moi as a one party state. In 2001 Moi brought Uhuru Kenyatta, Jomo Kenyatta’s son, into parliament as a potential successor, but in the 2002 election Mwai Kibaki, the opposition presidential candidate, won a landslide victory and brought 40 years of KANU rule to an end. Mwai ruled for 10 years attaining the constitutional retirement age.Uhuru Kenyatta is the current president of Kenya.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s